The weekend

I always start the weekend with a long list of things that must be done, or that I want to do, but it is rare that I reach the end of Sunday and have it all ticked off as completed. However I normally end up doing a whole pile of extra things that weren’t on the list but that were important (in the scheme of things). This weekend has been no exception. The list of things I didn’t do is long and quite boring, but the things that I did instead have been quite lovely. Like making marmalade!

IMG_0300

I don’t remember ever making it before but the sight of all my citrus fruit in the bowl not getting eaten while the children are away prompted me into action. The oranges were so orange!

IMG_0301

Then I threw in some limes and lemons and tried hard not to hum a nursery rhyme while chopping away.

IMG_0302

And then the important part – into the Thermomix, add sugar, and let the machine do it’s thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And hey presto! Five jars of marmalade waiting for their labels! Could be a good excuse to have toast for breakfast tomorrow.

I spent the afternoon playing with fabric and trialling new methods of making pencil pockets for my art wallets. I think I have it mastered. I am trying to add pockets so that the wallet sits flat when it is full of pencils. The jury is still out whether this is a worthwhile endeavour or not! It is very fiddly and the wallets don’t look as neat when they are empty. On the other hand, by using this method I can fit more pencil spaces into the same space. So the experimentation will continue! In the meantime the vibrant colours that I added to my stash with my visit to Spotlight gave me some new combinations to play with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My time of uninterrupted creating will come to an end in a few short days, so I am wondering what else I can fit in before my chicks return to the nest. I should probably also tackle Mt Washmore before they return, although I should probably call it Mt Foldmore – the clothes are all clean, they just haven’t been folded, sorted, or put away. One of the indulgences of being home without the children. Yes – it is the small things that keep me amused!

How was your weekend? Did you make anything?

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

