Ideas into action

Sometimes with so many ideas bubbling around in my head it is difficult to get started on anything! Having the luxury of a few days at home while the children are at school (as long as everything keeps running smoothly anyway) means that I have time to sew, etc. After helping out with a morning tea for the parents of the new kinder children this morning I came home and couldn’t decide what to start on!

I checked my To Do list for February, but of course ended up starting on something not on the list…… a familiar occurrence! (I did then tackle an item from the list later so feel suitably virtuous!) The eldest chick has a birthday next week – one that is celebrated by people all over the world with hearts and flowers. I tell her that it is because the whole world loves her – and she rolls her eyes and laughs at me, while still requesting a heart-shaped cake for her Valentine’s birthday. Anyway – I have made her ‘big’ present but still had some smaller things I wanted to do. I was able to speak to her father this morning and we are agreed that she can now be allowed to have her ears pierced if she wants to, so that is a big thing to help with signifying her move to ‘double digits’. But I still wanted a more personal gift from me. She has been requesting a new case for her iPod touch, with ‘a flap that closes over the screen when you aren’t using it’. I have been keeping an eye open in the shops but the only ones I have found are black, leather and expensive. Not her at all! So today I devised a fabric one – using the special fabric from Spoonflower that I used for her bigger present. I couldn’t work out how to include a hole for the camera on the back, or the earphone jack, but apart from that I am happy with it as a first effort. Photos will follow the birthday!

I have also been toying with the idea of a fabric cover for the notebook that I carry at work – it goes everywhere with me, is full of extra bits of paper and records everything I need to remember…..and then is often never looked at again. I also have some birthdays coming up for people who would also love that splash of colour in their office life, so I sat down today and started work on one. I have it all cut out and all the interfacing in, but am still thinking about whether I want it to have pockets for business cards and pens in the front……so I am going to sleep on that one.

My final effort was from my list – I went through all those lovely piles of fabric to find the right blend to make some pillowcases from. I am happy with the end result (although a couple of seams could match better, I am trying to let go of perfectionism!) but am trying to decide whether to add crocheted edges to them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had been thinking green cotton crochet around the end of the case (which has the fabric with the bunting on the reverse side), but then started to wonder whether it would mean that this wasn’t a case to be used in boys’ rooms. So I am interested in your opinion! All input on the question of crochet vs non-crochet welcome!

I hope that you had a great day of putting your ideas into action!

3 thoughts on “Ideas into action

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

