A productive weekend – and a facebook giveaway!

Winter has arrived early here in Canberra – the dog’ water bowl, and the chicken’s water dispenser were both frozen this morning for the first time this year. Of course this didn’t stop the children running around the yard in short sleeved shirts and pants. Each time they got cold they would each have a complete change of wardrobe, then return to playing, get hot, and have another new outfit. My washing basket is overflowing!

We have had a lovely quiet weekend. Having finally returned to full strength after my head cold, we have restocked the pantry, cleaned out some cupboards, folded the ever present large pile of clean laundry, had some lovely visitors, attended the children’s sporting fixtures, and I have, finally (it feels like) managed to sew!!

I have finished three custom orders this weekend. The first for a lady who breeds and shows Cavalier King Charles Spaniels (and my first truly new customer – we don’t have a previous direct relationship of any sort.) She requested a bag and an ipad cover.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second order was for a Dr Who hot water bottle cover. I actually made one last week – but it was about a centimetre (roughly half an inch) too small all round. This week I took a different approach and used polar fleece as the inner lining, as it works so well as insulation. It is still not perfect – but is much better – and has a hot water bottle in it, so I know that it fits! My lesson from all of this? Next time use calico for a mock up before cutting into good Spoonflower fabric!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The final order was for two art folders. I took a box with my current (quite small) stash of ready made items to my office last week for one of my team to look at as he wanted a bag for his mother. I didn’t want to make too big a deal of it, as I don’t want my team to feel obliged to ooh and aah over what is essentially my hobby, nor to feel obliged to buy anything. But one of the guys saw the art folders and decided that his daughter, who is turning 8 next weekend, would love one as she is a budding artist. Then he decided that his younger daughter needs one to avoid fights, so I made two! I even went back to making the pencil pockets pleated – although it is quite fiddly they really do work better…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I was updating my facebook page tonight I realised that I have hit 100 ‘likes’. So I am having my first giveaway through facebook. If you ‘like’ my page and comment on the relevant post, you will be in the draw to win this art folder.  I need to thank everyone for supporting me in my crafty adventure this year!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope that you had a great weekend!

8 thoughts on “A productive weekend – and a facebook giveaway!

  1. Louise Allan

    Love the personalisation you do with the fabrics — the King Charles spaniels and the Dr Who! Oh, and I’m slipping over to Facebook now…

    Reply
  2. Kristie Szabo

    Inspiring as always, thoroughly enjoying your blog…you must be mother of the year already! xo

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      Thank you Kristie – but far from mother of the year. Just muddling along, trying to keep all the balls in the air like everyone else. I am glad that you are enjoying my blog – I am enjoying writing it.

      Reply
  3. LubbyGirl

    I love browsing the sewing category on wordpress – find some interesting stuff that way. Now I need to check out your facebook page too.

    Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

