Friday Finds – A list of 30 (+ more than 50) free tutorials for quilt blocks

I am really enjoying finding my various collections of online tutorials to share with you. After a fairly consistent theme of bags, bags and more bags over the last few weeks I thought it might be time for a change! Before I became hooked on bags I started on patchworking quilts. I am yet to develop the bravery to tackle actually quilting one myself (I have outsourced that so far) but am working up to it! The quilts I have made so far have all been made through using various online free resources. The tips and hints I have picked up that way have been amazing!

The four quilt tops that I have made so far are:




Today I thought it might be useful to share my collection of links to the tutorials that I have used, and others that I have read, or pinned, to use in the future!


Star Blocks – Cluck Cluck Sew

Tana Liberty lawn – Purl Bee (Loving those Circles!!)

Vintage Turning Modern – Mode Bakeshop

2009 06 05 0182 edited

Easy Peasy Log Cabin tutorial – Stitches in Play

Pinwheels in the Park – Sew Mama Sew


Squares and Strips – Cluck Cluck Sew

Crayon Box Tutorial – Sew Mama Sew

Garden Fence – Hyacinth Quilt Designs

Windy Days Quilt – Mode Bake Shop

Starflower Block – Ellison Lane

Zig Zag Quilt without triangles – Bee Square Blog

Salt Water Taffy – Moda Bake Shop

Simple Circle Quilt – Make it… a Wonderful Life

On the Go – Moda Bake Shop

Plus Quilt – For the Love of George

Oh Deer Quilt – Tonya Dusold

Love Mini-quilt – Sew Mama Sew

String Quilting Primer – Quiltville’s Quips and Snips

Jolly Jelly Roll Quilt

Jelly Roll Quilt – Christa Quilts

Wonky Block by Heather Jones – Sew4Home

Storm at Sea quilt

Storm at Sea Quilt pattern – Generations Quilt Patterns

Wonky Star Tutorial – Silly Boo Dilly

Scrappy Summer Free Quilt Pattern

Scrappy Summer Quilt pattern – Cluck Cluck Sew


String Quilt Block Tutorial – Film in the Fridge


Pineapple block – One Shabby Chick

JellyBeanStars Charity Champions: The Garage Girls Quilting Together

Baby quilt – McCalls Quilting

Picnic Quilt – Sew Mama Sew

Perpetual Motion – Originate and Renovate

Pinwheels and postage stamps – Sew She Sews

Scrap Jar Stars – A little bit biased

Of course I am not the first to think of making such a list!

At All People Quilt there are links to 30 scrappy quilt projects.

If you look at this link to the Babble site you will find another 25 links to quilting tutorials.

If you look at the Gen X Quilters site you will find a whole library of quilting blocks!

Enjoy coming up with ideas of how to use these tutorials.  Just preparing this list has fired my imagination!

4 thoughts on “Friday Finds – A list of 30 (+ more than 50) free tutorials for quilt blocks

  1. Louise Allan

    I love, love, love quilts! Yours, ie the ones you’ve made, are absolutely gorgeous.


I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

