Creativity of different sorts

During the course of today, as I was sewing metre after metre of burgundy polycotton into costumes for the school theatrical production I was thinking about this blog entry and what to write.  I mulled over different thoughts that have drifted through my head in the last week but was feeling that I had no photos to share, and that this was going to start becoming the ‘photo-less boring blog’.  So I took some shots of the piles of burgundy polycotton and tried to think of ways to make them seem interesting.  And then I turned around and realised that what was happening in my house was far more interesting, both visually and creatively, so took some more photos and hey presto I know what I am going to share with you tonight!!  (Ooooh the suspense will kill you won’t it!)

In good news I appear to be fully recovered from the virus that had me floored this time last week.  I had two good days in the office and am back to full strength, so that is a huge improvement!   And to top things off in the feeling better stakes, the sun came out today!  I think I have mentioned before that I am really not coping with winter this year and I think it is because of the fog, the rain and the long grey days.  However today was a delight – sun and clear skies all day.  The children and their friends played outside for the first time in a long time – and did some great experimenting with vinegar and bicarb soda – including using it to inflate balloons – that shot around very quickly when released!  So much fun, discovery and laughter (and I am kicking myself for not getting photos!)  I was desperate to get outside and do a number of jobs that have been put on the back burner while the weather has been so dismal – repacking the camper trailer, raking the leaves, trimming the roses – you know, all the exciting things.  But those piles of burgundy polycotton were calling my name……

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you think I have mentioned them enough?  I have made 15 tunics (and perfected my technique beautifully if I may say so!) and even managed to adjust a pattern to make it larger (including upsizing the sleeve!!!) but it just doesn’t feel as satisfying as my normal crafting.  I think I ‘might’ be a fabric snob.  I am too used to sewing with lovely cotton, and delightful designs, and the 16 or so metres of the (now) dreaded burgundy got a bit much!  I am not quite finished yet – I need to ‘bling’ up four of the tunics for a particular group of students, and make capes for each of the tunics.  (I can’t remember if I explained that these are tunics for Trojans and the story they are telling is the Trojan Horse.)  Before I can start on cape construction I need to see what the Greek tunics that other people are making will cover when they are worn over the Trojan tunics.  Details, details, details!  I will be quite happy when they are all finished and I can return to my usual programming!

The more important things I want to share with you tonight?  The creativity that is happening all around me, even when I am moaning about that particular coloured fabric.  First of all the great backyard experimenting in the sun, and then the eldest chick (who is only 10) announced that she would cook dinner.  And she did!  She experimented earlier in the week in making a Jamaican chicken dish, and as it turned out so well, she repeated it again.  It is delicious!  Each time she has cooked the chicken to perfection!  She served it with rice and vegetables and her brother and sister cleared their plates!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using the stool to reach the microwave!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

(Imagine the dinner table discussion about what kind of jerks these chickens must have been!)

The bonus to her cooking was that I got to give my new workout program a go.  Now that I am healthy again, I finally made it to see my personal trainer for my first official session.  We agreed that I need a program I can do at home, that involves the kids, otherwise I will continue to not exercise.  So the middle chick ran the timer and she and the boy counted my ‘reps’ for each exercise.  The boy was hilarious and started yelling ‘encouragement’ in the style of a drill sergeant!  I say hilarious, but it could easily become dangerous!  I suspect my body will be complaining loudly tomorrow but for now I am feeling suitable virtuous.

The other creativity in my house was on public display at school on Thursday and Friday.  On Thursday the eldest chick had her annual piano recital.  Her teacher is delightful and ensures that all students, even the youngest and newest, get to play a piece that showcases their ability and makes them feel special.  This year the eldest chick emulated many senior students before her, and chose to play a piece from memory.  I was a little dubious about her decision, especially as her piano practise has dropped away recently.  However, she made me very proud with a lovely rendition of a classical piece called “Climbing”.

Late last week the middle chick and two of her friends auditioned to participate in the ‘performance assembly’ held at the end of each term.  On Friday students chosen from years 3 and 4 put on displays of martial arts, piano playing, drum playing (!!!), hip hop dancing, ballet, skipping, and singing.  The middle chick and her friends performed a piece that my chick had scripted, that was a news report, reporting on the state of their school.  It included lines such as ‘the level of cool in our school is 100%.  We are not too school for cool, or too cool for school.  We have nerds here too, but they are cool.”  They also went on to explain that the reason that their school is so great is due to the teachers and the principal.  Hmmmm….. a good way to score points in the good graces of said teachers and principal!  It was delightful, and they were all appropriately proud of themselves.

The added bonus of attending the assembly was that I was able to be there to see the boy presented with an award (that I didn’t have advance notice of).  He was so proud being up there on the stage and immediately presented me with his certificate (part of a peer growth program in the school called Making Jesus Real) before returning to sit with his class.  Much happiness all round.

Now that was worth waiting a few paragraphs for wasn’t it?  Far more interesting that the other topics I was considering (which may or may not have included mid-life crises, the gender issues in Australian politics, and/or internet dating.)  None of them in any way related to crafting!

On a final note I can report that it appears that my judgement as a parent, that I was beginning to question a couple of weeks ago, is still working.  (Phew!)  It doesn’t make our issues disappear, but it reassures me that I still have perspective on those issues.  I can also predict that there will be much of my own crafting to report soon, as the children are going to visit their grandparents for the holidays so I will have free time, and it is time to start making ‘stuff’ for the school fete craft stall.   Hmmmm……I can feel more lists coming on – some might even make it onto the blog.

May your week be delightfully creative in many different ways!

2 thoughts on “Creativity of different sorts

  1. Louise Allan

    I always enjoy your blog posts — it’s just like you’re chatting with your readers!

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      Thank you Louise. I think it might be due to all those years of letter writing at boarding school, followed by years of emailing my parents all our little bits of news. There might have been some advantages to moving around a lot!

      Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

