Being competitive!

Apparently I have a competitive streak. Who knew? (That is definitely rhetorical as I am sure that many of my friends and family would confirm that they have always known this to be true.) I wrote last week about my staff member who had started geocaching and found quite a few in a short space of time. That has (finally) spurred me on to get the kids out to find more and expand our searching territory.

Thursday saw us go for a lovely walk with the dog to find 7 geocaches. They were disguised in all sorts of ways. Our favourite for the day was one that was hanging by a thread of fishing line down inside a bridge railing.  We had a great time and agreed that we need to do it more often. The satisfaction for the day was finding a cache in a park close to our suburb that we have looked for without success twice before.  (I should add persistent to the competitive description!)

On Friday while we went to the chiropractor’s office to pick up the prize that the boy won in a colouring in competition (he was SO proud!!) we found one in the park next door – and realised that we could achieve 31 caches in 31 days, which is a geocaching promotion for August. As we log a cache each day we get a little award. Saturday I was trying to motivate the chicks to go out and find a cache to continue past day 1 (it logs on American time so our 7 caches on 1 August didn’t count!) but wasn’t making much ground. A short time later the artist-in-residence was on the computer playing Minecraft when an email arrived announcing a new cache in our area (which covers the Australian Capital Territory and parts of New South Wales). She clicked on it out of interest, realised that it had been released by friends of ours who don’t live too far away, and all of a sudden was motivated!  She and I jumped in the car (she still wearing her hair turban after her bath and me getting dressed in my jacket in the car) and raced off to be the ‘first to find’ the new cache – a very cute little mushroom hidden amongst autumn leaves!  We were very excited – and ticked the box for one cache for the day!

Not being content with this, and determined to stay ahead of the new team, today saw the children and I go for a 2 1/2 hour walk with our very good friends who introduced us to geocaching, to find 16 caches! So our stats are looking good. Our favourite cache – this sneaky hide up under a bridge where the cache was on a chain up the hole! (Defying gravity really – and spooky when the chance of poisonous spiders is ever present!). My beautiful friend Ms C was the brave one who retrieved it while I pretended to be busy checking the map (!!!).

geocache

The behaviour of the children on the walk had their mother feeling quite challenged. They weren’t misbehaving per se, but the whinging from the middle chick, the uber-competitiveness of the eldest chick (can’t think where she gets that from) and the boy’s obsession with wanting to organise a play date for the afternoon (imagine saying ‘no’ in every possible way pretty much non-stop for over two hours) wore me down. So I put myself to bed for a nap when we got home. I think that the concept of ‘time-out’ that we used when they were children – one minute for each year of their age – works quite well for adults. I need to put myself into time-out more often!

Of course, having a nap did mean that my planned crafting for the afternoon didn’t happen. I am close to finishing the blocks for the ‘memory’ quilt that my housekeeper asked me to make for her. I am happy with the way that they are turning out, although the rayon is slippery and doesn’t sit well. I am relying on the strong cotton sashing and the quilting process to hold it all in shape! She has asked for it to be sashed in brown as she has brown tones in her bedroom. I plan to incorporate more of the red into the border too, so hopefully will get that finished this week.

quilt block

So many of you have written beautiful words of support in response to my post a couple of weeks ago about my boy.  While his behaviour still challenges me, there are signs that we are on the right path.  This morning I asked him whether he feels any different after taking his tablets.  He said “It feels like the tablets are killing the brain scramblers”.  Wow.  (I clarified with him that this means that when he takes the tablets his brain feels like it unscrambles and that this is a good thing.)  What a telling statement though.  It gives me hope that we are doing the right thing.

I also had some lovely words of encouragement about the fact that I have started dating someone.  Some of the nicest comments have been that he will be ‘checked out’ to ensure that he is good enough for me, and one lovely friend who kindly wrote that she hopes that he knows that he is punching above his weight.  I feel so blessed that my friends think I am special, and that they have my back.  As I said last week, it is still early days, and anything could happen.  But in the meantime my cheer-squad are making themselves heard loud and clear and I love them!

My crafting plans for this week are simple.  I want to finish the quilt top, and make a bag to be donated to a school function I am attending next weekend.  And I have an order for a super-hero cape for a little girl.  I love that I get orders for capes for girls when so much super-hero stuff is aimed at boys.  I don’t make them all ‘girly’ but add a range of colours that identify them as super-heros, whether they are girls or boys.  Fun!

Now it is Sunday night, the pile of washing is in danger of causing an avalanche in the family room, baking for lunchboxes is required, and a bit of cleaning wouldn’t hurt!  I hope that you have a great week, with plenty of creativity and that you find something to be competitive about!!  (I will be aiming to log one cache a day – which might mean ducking out at lunchtime without the kids, just to stay ahead!!)

2 thoughts on “Being competitive!

  1. CW

    I enjoy your reading about your life, and I love being in your life. Day by day, week by week, I am seeing change in you and your chicks. Your chicks are doing great. PS. I love the quote that your new man is punching above his weight! You are spectacular and he should know it!! Have a great week and be kind to yourself xo

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      Thank you for being in my life. And for being brave enough to retrieve scary caches! Your perspective on my life keeps me sane!
      I liked that quote too. I am still working out whether he knows it or not yet!!

      Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

