Getting down to it

Very exciting news in the nest with the announcement that the eldest chick and her classmates have made the finals in the Wakakirri competition! This little bird is (not-so) secretly pleased that all those costumes get another outing! We will be off to the theatre again on 26 August for the regional finals. I am so proud!!

I am also pleased to report that I am achieving my crafting goals for the week quite well! I have made a super-hero cape for a little girl called Emily,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a bag with matching zip pouch to donate to the auction at the ball I am attending on the weekend,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a pencil roll as a separate donation to the same auction,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and have almost completed the sashing on the memory quilt top!

I also managed to get another three rows on the crocheted afghan while watching the martial arts class last night. Feeling quite satisfied with my efforts!

In the midst of all my planning and thinking I have missed doing what I love doing – making! I have a few other orders to fill now, and am looking forward to making them.

Having a good week has also given me time to reflect a bit. Over the years, through trials and tribulations, my girlfriends have supported me, picked me up, given me perspective, told me not to be melodramatic, and generally kept me going. I am so lucky! So many people ask me ‘how do you do it’ – work, parent three children, etc, without any family support in town. Apart from the answer that my parents give me a huge amount of support even though they aren’t local, I am always able to say that I have amazing friends. They keep me going. Celebrate the highs, and prop me up during the lows. This week a couple of those amazing women had to face their own challenges. I felt so helpless, being able to do little except try to make one laugh, and offer food for another. Then I remembered the times that my friends have done just that for me. Talked to me about inane things to keep my mind occupied. Did airport runs to pick up or drop off people. Dropped in with a bottle of wine. And I realised that to be a good friend you don’t always have to do BIG things. Just being there, in the quiet times when you need another voice on the end of a phone, or to email you a silly story, or to drop in and say hi. Those are the things that make us friends rather than acquaintances. The things that keep us going. So to my girlfriends – thank you. Please know that I will always be there to help prop you up, to drink wine when required, and to make you laugh (either at yourself, or at me) to keep you going. Because what goes around comes around.

I can also report that we have maintained our ‘cache a day’ target. Despite rain and late work days!  The kids are committed too, so we are having fun!

Enjoy the rest of your week and remember to celebrate the people in your life who are your true friends.

2 thoughts on “Getting down to it

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

