Bookweek

One of the things that contributed to my stress over the weekend was the concept of organising book week costumes. Not really a big deal, but just one more thing to add to the list that I thought I should be fulfilling. Fast forward three days and I can report that it is all under control! The boy is going to wear his martial arts outfit and his Jedi knight robe (made by me for his birthday last year) and go as Luke Skywalker. The middle chick is going as Arky Sparkles, the heroine of a series of books she loves (who wears ‘normal clothes’ with a yellow scarf!). That left the eldest chick, who announced that she wanted to go as Susan from The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe and in fact from other Narnia books. Hmmmmm….. Thanks to the advent of the movies, that was trickier as she had ideas about what she wanted, based on the movie costume, rather than the book description. But – I have done it! A trip to the fabric store where I discovered that everything in stock was 30% off (yay!!) and overcoming my fear of sewing knit fabric (hooray for the overlocker!) resulted in a long ‘medieval’ dress and cloak that took me about an hour in total to make. She is happy and I am proud, so it is a win all round! The middle chick has crafted her a bow and arrow from pieces she found in the house and garden, and she will look great! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With that bit of sewing under my belt I have also pushed on to applique more t-shirts for my Etsy store. I am not thrilled with my photos and need to work on my lighting, but for now, at least I am happy with the shirts themselves!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This week has been a bit disorganized so far, with my planned day off on Monday, and then two half days yesterday and today due to illness of various family members (none of which has turned out to be serious). Despite this the house is still a bit messy…… I am going with the concept of ‘lived in’ to get me through until the weekend when I will tackle it in a methodic way!

The good news is that I am starting to get back onto a more even keel. Some phone conversations with my parents, friends and MIML have helped. Taking the pressure off myself so that I don’t expect myself to ‘do’ everything is the biggest step. Now to maintain the momentum!

The rest of the week is filled with more sports training, and hopefully some full days in the office! I may even get some more sewing done – stranger things have happened! I hope that your week is travelling well, wherever you may be.

 

2 thoughts on “Bookweek

  1. Martha

    Great tunic! I love books, but I hate book week because of the dress up. We are pretty hopeless at costumes in this house.

    Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

