A little splash of fabric

I know that on my recently introduced regimented blog routine I am meant to post a list of Friday finds on a Friday. I still might get to it later tonight. (I am such a rebel – breaking my own self imposed blog rules!!) My reason for the act of rebellion? Fabric. Of course!

One of those magic slips from the courier company arrived earlier in the week to say that they had tried to deliver a parcel but I wasn’t home. So I trotted off to collect my parcel – which was large – and propped it up in my bedroom (which is fabric storage central at the moment). That was 2 days ago. Two whole days!! This afternoon I finally opened it. The whole order was laminated cottons, and one piece of oil cloth, so it all came rolled on cardboard bolts. I felt like a professional artisan picking up my grown up fabric order! (Yes, yes – it is the small things that keep me going!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And oh….what possibilities! Look at these colours! So vibrant and shiny under the laminate! I am picturing makeup bags, baby change mats, an apron or two, swimming bags…..oh the list is endless!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Being fuelled with the joy of shiny new fabric (literally) is a wondrous thing. As you may have gathered from my recent posts, I have been struggling for inspiration and motivation recently. A good friend and the MIML both suggested versions of slowing down – considering the option of not having my market stall in December, not making new things for the shop, not blogging for a while. And that made me realise that if I am going to give up things to free up time and relieve stress that these are not the things that I want to stop doing. A lovely realisation! My plan for this weekend is to focus on making things, creating things and dreaming. I love weekends!

The other exciting thing that has happened to remind me that I love creating is an invitation to have one of my overnight bags featured in an online magazine. I am so thrilled to be asked! I want to get some better photos over the weekend to submit, and will keep you informed about when they will be featured.

With that resolve and creative fire in my belly again, I can now report on something far more mundane. I have been wondering about the difference between oilcloth and laminated cotton for a while. The articles I have read haven’t really helped much. Some places say that they are one and the same, while others say they are different. With this latest order I have conducted my own assessment and ordered several pieces of laminated cotton, which I am already familiar with, and one piece of oil cloth. Of course, my experiment is a little flawed as what this website describes as oilcloth is probably very different from the next. However, in this very limited trial sample I can now report that they are very different!

The oil cloth that I ordered is more like a layer of flexible plastic supported by a plastic loose-weave mesh base. Very much man made, water proof, with a high gloss and relatively stiff.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The laminated cotton is cotton fabric with a layer of clear silicone like plastic on one surface. It is more flexible and will still be water-resistant on the ‘shiny’ side, but will absorb water on the cotton side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course they are quite different prices too. Now that I understand the difference in their texture and feel I can see that they will have quite different applications. The oil cloth could still be used for bags, aprons and tablecloths, but it has a very different look and feel, so I suspect that I won’t be using it as much as the laminated cotton.

And there endeth my spontaneous exposition on the different fabrics!  Now to think about what to make tonight, and what list of Friday finds I might prepare.  Or not this week!  Ah the suspense!

6 thoughts on “A little splash of fabric

  1. CUP + PENNY

    Plus, you can make your own laminated cotton (whereas you can’t make your own oilcloth). My mom and I made a purse once when I was in high school, out of normal cotton we liked. Then we ironed on the laminate (or was it self-adhesive? I can’t remember now.)

    Reply
  2. vickymcdougall

    You took how long to open the parcel?! Haha, after reading that it was all I could think about while reading the rest of your post. How did she manage to wait so long? Why on earth would she want to? I would never be able to wait that long! 😉

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      I know – I am astounded myself! I have been known to open them in the car, just to have a peek! I think it is a sign of how busy and out of control life has been here. It is not a good sign! Luckily things are calming down and all fabric will be opened immediately as it should be in future!

      Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

