A mixed bag on the first day of Spring!

So many topics that could be covered on a Sunday night. The one most relevant to the day itself is that it is Father’s Day. Having been blessed with a father who has given me a life full of love, support, encouragement and the occasional hard question to make me think, I can honestly say Happy Father’s Day! Dad, you are half the reason I am where I am today (with Mum being the other half of course!). You have lead an amazing life, taken us on great adventures, and lived with integrity, intelligence, generosity and compassion. Thank you. I am very proud to call you Dad, and so pleased that my children have you as an Opa.

 

Father’s Day can be a bit tricky for my chicks, especially while their father is out of the country, but this year the day has passed without drama. They talked to their Dad on Skype, showed him the cards and messages they had written (which I am to scan and send) and that was enough for them. Time does heal a few wounds.

My day started in a beautiful way when I opened my email to find a gift voucher from a fellow blogger – her gift to thank me for supporting her blog for her first year! So generous and thoughtful! She is also running a great giveaway to celebrate her first year blogoversary, so head over to visit Michelle at Factotum of Arts and enjoy her lovely take on crafts (she has been making the most beautiful quilt blocks) and enter her giveaway!

My attempts to find rhythm in life to dance through it all have been more successful this week. I have lifted myself out of the little mire of self pity I had sunk into, had some tough conversations (including with myself!) and the results have been positive! (The beginning of Spring hasn’t hurt either!) Remembering to let go and enjoy the ride meant that a quick trip to pick up the boy from a play at a friend’s house turned into a 5 hour visit complete with wine, bonfire, a dinner stretched to include us too, and lots of laughing. Then this morning the kids and I went on a spontaneous adventure to the recycling shop at the local tip. The kids had a ball, imagining what they could do with the various pieces of discarded ‘stuff’ they found. We found a folding screen that I will do some work on to create a screen to use at my market stall, and a set of mini-shelves which will also be useful in a market display. A successful adventure! Not a lot of sewing happened with our various impromptu adventures, but we had a lot of fun!

The Spring weather has also meant more time outside. The youngest two chicks set off on their bikes for a ride in the bush this afternoon, and the middle chick took the dog for a walk around the block this evening – just because! The girls had their last hockey game for the season yesterday, so with the great weather and the lifting of the weekend sporting commitments, a camping weekend will be in order very, very soon!! Something about the sun being out and the air being lighter has me wanting to clean the house out, to make lists of things that need to be done, to renovate the front garden, to plant the vege patch, to oil the decks, to sew and sew and sew………… just need to find the time……..

While I have been pottering around doing bits and pieces of sewing I have also been doing a lot of thinking. Here in Australia it is one week out from our federal election. At a time when our country is actually not doing too badly overall, but when there is always a bit more that can be improved in health, education, our finances, etc, both major political parties are letting me down. Both have come up with policies on how we as a country should treat people who arrive on boats seeking refuge. Both are appalling. If the political parties are aiming at reaching the majority of Australians, then I am very sad, because it means that they think that the majority of Australians are racist, lacking in compassion, lacking in morals, and lacking in intellect. I really hope that they are wrong.

In addition to the appalling policy on refugees, both parties have consistently shown a lack of compassion in how they want to treat the less advantaged (or potentially marginalised) in society. Single parents, refugees, women, immigrants and low income earners have all come under fire in the various policies announced, or in the off-the-cuff remarks of the leaders. If some of the policies were aimed at long term improvements I could probably understand it, but each of the policies I read about has a smell of being whipped up to score short-term points, with little depth or long term benefits to flow from it. So disappointing, and so depressing. Our choices for the leader of our country appear to be between a misogynist racist gaffe maker and an angry bitter man. Voting will be so difficult. Let’s hope that which ever party wins remembers to be compassionate and to put the needs of the people ahead of point scoring.

I haven’t managed to finish sewing anything to share with you tonight, but can report doing a lot of work on my overlocker trying to get the tension right. Grrrr…… After completely re-threading it (again) I have almost got it right, but there is still a little bit more tinkering to be done.

Could this be a post without any photos? Surely not! So here is one of the first part of the creativity suitcase I am making for a special little friend’s birthday.  I should have it finished in the next couple of days.  I am enjoying making it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This week is fresh with possibilities!  Nothing in particular planned, so maybe some time to tackle that long list of things I am inspired to do…….  Here’s hoping!

I hope that your week starts off with a kick of Spring energy and a dash of spontaneous fun!

One thought on “A mixed bag on the first day of Spring!

  1. Debra

    Good to hear an Australian’s take on the upcoming elections. I hope whoever wins will step up to it. Looking forward to your creativity suitcase 🙂

    Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

