Interrupting the schedule

It has occurred to me tonight that sticking to a blogging schedule takes the fun out of it. I look back at my first posts and I like them! Now, they feel more like a list of what has happened in the last week. Not paint-drying boring, but not great to read either. So I am abandoning my structure in favour of a more free-flowing blog. I choose to view this as an evolutionary step rather than a reversal! (C’mon, work with me here!)

I started the blog to have a place to talk about my crafting, sewing, parenting and the ups and downs of life. Along the way I think I forgot for a bit that sharing tidbits of life as it happens and impacts on us is so much more interesting that watching the evening news….. hence the decision to take the regulated nature away, and go back to writing when I want to, or need to. Chances are that you will get more photos that way too!!

I have been in a great space for the last couple of days. I have been soaking up the sudden onset of Spring weather and am sure that it is all that extra sunlight that is making life seem so achievable again. I have also decided that I need to find an au pair. I looked at this at the beginning of the year when my usual babysitter took up a full time job, but was worried that further instability would disrupt the boy. As it turns out, the introduction of an au pair would probably have made little difference to the boy, but hindsight is a wonderful thing. So now I am focussed on the benefits that would come from us having an au pair, even if it just until Christmas. I could go out at night occasionally – whoa! A radical concept! I could also have time to get my sewing done while the kids were still busy, happy and occupied! I could also have more flexibility about my office hours, and be in a better position to give my team time when they need it. (Don’t worry – I am sure that there are downsides too, but listing them would bring me down!) So the search is on – feelers have been put out on websites, through family, and on facebook. Now to find the magical person to be part of our crazy, colourful, creative family life for a few months! Wish me (and the chicks) luck!

Part of the Spring energy also means that I want to make lists and get organised and clean up the house and garden. I also want to sew, and research, and design and plan. My solution to all of this? I have made a list. Yep – a stroke of genius! I have planned what I want to have made for my market stall and mapped out what I would like to make each week in order to reach that target. I think it is doable. The hope is that with a plan I will have time for a camping weekend or two, to work on the garden, and to keep the decluttering process going. And the list is pretty too. It is on a proper piece of paper, rather than the back of an envelope. That has to make a difference!

Before I go to clean up my sewing area and prepare for making something new (I think I will start with some small zipped purses/pouches) I can share that the creativity suitcase for my special little friend who is turning 6 is finished. Her mother, who commissioned it, collected it today and has promised photos of it being unwrapped on Friday morning. I can’t wait!! I made it using the tutorial prepared by ‘By Night’ on the Whip-Up site for a creativity suitcase

The photos were taken with my phone, at night, but you get the general drift I hope!

I hope that your week is going well and that you are also finding happiness and focus.

3 thoughts on “Interrupting the schedule

  1. michellebryer

    I think you’re right, having a schedule can make you feel pressured, which totally takes the fun out! Especially when you have little ones who can keep you preoccupied! That being said, I am so jealous that you can even think of having an au pair!

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      I agree Michelle!
      With the au pair I probably should explain the financial incentive behind me looking for one – having an au pair will also halve my current childcare bill. I have the everyday dilemma of so many parents (not just single ones) in having to work to pay the bills but having to pay others to care for my chicks so I can work. The idea of an au pair is the latest in a long line of solutions I have tried to help find the right balance. (But with all of that sensibly explained I have to admit feeling a bit excited at the prospect!!)

      Reply
      1. michellebryer

        Oh wow! cheaper for better care, that is awesome 🙂 I admit I am extremely lucky to be able to stay home with the kids.. What I really want is someone to pick up the toys and do my laundry!!

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

