20131117-082159.jpg

I have been sitting on this gorgeous fabric designed by Sara Berrensen that I bought from Spoonflower for too long. It is called ‘Vintage Book Nerd’ and is just delightful. I wanted to wait until I had the right project in mind before I cut into it. (Which is ridiculous given that I have three pieces of it – one large pattern on cotton, one small pattern on cotton and one small pattern on linen-cotton canvas!)

I have been making cross-body bags from my tutorial for the last few days, and decided this was the perfect pattern to start using this fabric on. I used a slate grey cotton duck for the body, a vibrant mottled teal for the lining and the canvas for the flap, strap and back pocket. Now I need to make other bags with this fabric as I love the finished product!

I haven’t listed any of my bags in my shop this week, while I build up stock for my stall next month but I might need to list this one to gauge interest!

It is a dilemma! List now and make sales versus hold stock so I don’t have an empty stall. I think I just need to keep sewing so that I can cover both bases!! I am interested to hear how others tackle this, and would appreciate some input from experienced craft sellers!

8 thoughts on “A bag for book nerds

  1. Jenny Doyle

    OOOOh love the bag and what lovely fabric – perfect choice! Good luck with your decisions and prioritising sales etc – I’m just wrangling with what gets to be at the top of my ‘to sew’ list as the end of the year approaches!

    Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

