Sale time

The last few days have been flat out busy while we have tried to prepare for my Mum’s departure back to New Zealand today.  She was with us for eight weeks in the end, and wrapped us all up in her love and helped us get through some of the roughest patches we have had in a while.  I am trying hard not to think about her not being here, but have noticed that there is no one offering to make me a cup of tea, reminding me to drink more water, bringing in the washing, planning the evening meal, or giving my chicks their own little piece of attention in the midst of a busy house.  Oh boy will we miss her.

But in the quiet space following her departure I have managed to load photos of some of my latest creations onto my Etsy shop, and have decided, in celebration of my successful market, and because it is Christmas, that it is time to have a sale.  So if you enter the code XMASSALE in the coupon section at the checkout at any time until 21 December, you will received a 20% discount on your order.  There are some smaller pieces that are just right for stuffing stockings too!  My little Christmas thank you to everyone for supporting me this year.

I have had a break from sewing today while I cared for my sick middle chick who has tonsillitis, and ran various errands.  One of the errands was to collect the finished memory quilt from the very talented Raylee at Sunflower Quilting.  This was the quilt that I was asked to make using a sarong and a light cotton island shirt that my housecleaner and her husband wore for their beach wedding in Fiji.  I am thrilled that I can present it to her before Christmas!  I hope that you can get a feel for the finished product from these photos – my designated quilt holders (the chicks) had left for the day before I remembered to take the photos!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will start sewing again tonight to finish some custom ordered superhero capes in time for Santa to pick them up for their recipients.  Then I will be cleaning up the disgrace that my sewing space has become and then……wait for it…….moving all my sewing things into the spare room and claiming it as my own!  Although the two oldest chicks were desperate to go back to having rooms of their own, they now have rooms of their own at their father’s house, so I decided that it was time to be selfish and have a room for myself.  I will keep a single bed in there so we have room for visitors, but the rest of the room will be my domain!  (And it just happens to have the best aspect, and therefore light, in the house!)  All that room for fabric storage!  Danger, danger, danger!  All that clutter removed from my bedroom!  Peace and tranquility shall return!  (hopefully.)

Part of the craziness of the last few days was my attempts to finish all the presents that I wanted to make for Mum to take with her to New Zealand to deliver to the rest of my family, who are gathering for Christmas there.  I can’t show you any photos yet (and of course forgot to photograph a couple of things) but am happy to say that I was able to tick everything off my list (once I simplified the list of course!)

So now all I need to do is remember where I have hidden the little bits and pieces I have gathered for the chicks, wait for the postie each day (she is currently doing two deliveries a day, bless her!) and stumble through the days until the 25th when the chicks leave to visit their father’s family in Victoria and I have a quiet house for a couple of weeks.

I hope that your Christmas preparation has not been two busy and that you are faring well amidst the seasonal chaos.

2 thoughts on “Sale time

  1. Louise Allan

    The quilt looks amazing! And it was sooo nice to chat tonight — and to chat for sooo long! Thanks — it made my day. xx

    Reply
    1. a little bird made me Post author

      Louise – it definitely made my day too! I think we did quite well to summarise 20 plus years into only 2 1/2 hours!! But as I am sure that we missed a few bits we might need to do it again!

      Reply

I am always interested in feedback, comments or your own musings, so please share!

